In trying to find an organization focused on pharmaceutical care, Hubert Brault, pharmacist, discovered and made a first meeting with Jean-Louis Machuron, founding president of Pharmaciens Sans Frontières known as PSF at their office in Clermont-Ferrand in France. This meeting took place at the time the movement was growing and wanted to become international. Hubert agreed to support the Canadian branch, as the third branch of PSF outside France and the first in North America.

Upon his return to Canada, he met two of his fellow pharmacists, Yves Chicoine and Georges Roy. Hubert worked as a community pharmacist, Yves had a career in the pharmaceutical industry and Georges worked in hospital pharmacy. The team represented well the various facets of the profession. In 1994, the first board of directors was formed. The Quebec Association of Pharmacy Owners (AQPP) provided office space and administrative support to help startup this new organization. They then worked on the charter and, in 1995, PSF-Canada was accepted as a non-profit organization.

Thanks to the generosity of the company Novopharm, the organization got a donation for the creation of its working capital.

Lectures in universities and participation in various pharmaceutical meetings, all supported by numerous articles in specialized journals, allowed about eighty Canadian pharmacists to live a unique experience while participating in a humanitarian cause.

Our pharmacists have participated in missions in several countries alongside our international organization, including Afghanistan • Tajikistan • Bosnia • Haiti • Kosovo • Macedonia • Montenegro • Albania • Ecuador • DRC • Palestine.

From the beginning, their competence and availability were recognized; PSF-Canada built a good reputation in Europe as well as in the different missions. PSF-Canada also had the opportunity to serve on the Board of Directors of Pharmaciens Sans Frontières International Committee (PSF-CI), which allowed us to actively participate in major decisions of the association.

Over the years, PSF-Canada Board of Directors has grown and several presidents have occupied this position:

  • Hubert Brault 1994-2004
  • Jean-Michel Lavoie 2004-2007
  • Diane Lamarre 2007-2014
  • Régis Vaillancourt 2014 - 2016
  • Suzanne Levesque 2016 - 2018

PSF Canada continues to be involved in missions in Haiti and Africa.

PSF-Canada continues to promote appropriate drug donations in accordance with the recommendations of the World Health Organization.